Alameda election returns at 11:19 pm

As you could not possibly not know, Obama has won the national contest. Locally, with absentee voters and 25 of 52 precincts tallied, Measure P is failing (but close): there are 8,607 no votes (50.71 percent) and 8,365 yeses (49.29 percent). In the school board contest, newcomers appear to be ousting the incumbents, with Niel Tam the top vote getter with 9,492 votes. Trish Spencer is currently in second place with 7,019, trailed by Ron Mooney with 6,792 votes, Janet Gibson with 6,616 and David Forbes with 6,043. In the contest for city council, incumbents Doug Dehaan (8297 votes) and Marie Gilmore (7,983) are in the lead. Challengers Tracy Jensen and Justin Harrison are trailing. More election data here, of course.