Howe and Macha in the house with a few players from the 20-game streak

In for Joe Stiglich …

The A’s are celebrating the 10-year anniversary of their American League record 20-game winning streak Saturday night, but a few of the gang from 2002 were on hand Friday, including a good portion of the coaching staff — manager Art Howe, bench coach Ken Macha, hitting coach Thad Bosley and first  base coach  Mike Quade. The players’ group was kind of skimpy. Those in town to represent the ’02 club are relievers Jim Mecir, Jeff Tam, Chad Bradford and Micah Bowie,  outfielder Terrence Long and first baseman Scott Hatteberg (who works for the A’s). Jermaine Dye was supposed to be here but was a late scratch.

There’s a partial explanation — a lot of the guys from that team are still playing, including Barry Zito, Tim Hudson, Ted Lilly, Ramon Hernandez, Mark Ellis, Eric Chavez and Aaron Harang. Then there’s Cory Lidle, who passed away in a plane crash. Olmedo Saenz is back in Panama somewhere. Not sure why Mark Mulder, Miguel Tejada, Eric Byrnes, Billy Koch and David Justice couldn’t make it, but after that, you really miss Adam Piatt, Frank Menechino and John Mabry?

Was looking over that 20-game streak and noticed some interesting facts. First, in 16 of the final 17 games of the streak — including 12 in a row — the A’s scored six runs or more. Lots of blowout wins. And they scored four in the one game they didn’t score six or more. Second, the streak ended when Minnesota’s Brad Radke shut them out 6-0 at the Metrodome, but then the club won three more in a row for 23 out of 24. Hudson and Zito both 4-0 during the streak and Koch had nine saves of his 44 saves.

Not a whole lot of news. Outfielder Josh Reddick had another dental procedure Friday and did not start. A.J. Griffin threw all of his pitches in a pre-game bullpen and will throw another Sunday. Brett Anderson will throw one Saturday at the Coliseum.

Tonight’s lineups:

A’s: Crisp CF, Weeks 2B, Cespedes LF, Carter 1B, Moss RF, Gomes DH, Donaldson 3B, Norris C, Pennington SS. Milone P

Cleveland: Kipnis 2B, Cabrera SS, Choo RF, Santana 1B, Brantley CF, Donald LF, Duncan DH, Lillibridge 3B, Marson C. McAllister P


Carl Steward