One of the oldest sayings about baseball is that on any given day you can see something you’ve never seen before.
Friday’s Oakland-Detroit game was one of those given days.
The Tigers thought they’d scored in the fifth inning when Ian Kinsler tagged up and tried to score from third after A’s first baseman Yonder Alonso made an over-the-shoulder catch in foul territory.
Alonso came up throwing, and Kinsler stopped. But when the ball skittered past catcher Steve Vogt at the plate, Kinsler was able to cross the plate uncontested.
Except that home plate umpire Joe West pointed at Kinsler and said two words: “You’re out.’’
Neither side protested, and the game went on, but it took a while for the assembled multitude in the press box to sort out exactly why Kinsler was out. It turned out that the man who hit the foul ball, Victor Martinez was nicked on the foot by the throw, and that constituted interference that didn’t elude West’s vision. He said there were three different parts of the rule book that said so.
The A’s were, however, a little slow to grasp it.