By Jonathan Okanes
Friday, November 30th, 2007 at 10:24 pm in upcoming game.
I’ve got a few e-mails regarding the 7-5 vs. 6-6 rule in terms of bowl berths. I checked again with Cal and the Pac-10 office, and they reiterated: Yes, a 7-5 team gets the nod over a 6-6 team to qualify for a bowl berth. But once all the berths within a conference have been awarded — in other words, if there are enough bids to go around for all teams eligible — then bowl bids are still handed out in the order of the conference standings. So UCLA still is ahead of Cal even if the Bears win tomorrow to finish 7-5.
Now, if Arizona beats Arizona State and Cal beats Stanford, either the Wildcats or the Bruins will be left out of a Pac-10 bowl game because by rule the Bears will get a bid over one of the teams. Cal would be the fifth team in from the conference, with one spot left between Arizona and UCLA. The bowl would get to pick between the two schools. And once that team is picked, they would automatically be ahead of Cal in the conference standings. Thus, in that scenario, the Bears would be headed to the Armed Forces Bowl.
Got all that? Yeah, I’m thinking the same thing. Let’s just wait until after the games are played tomorrow and have somebody tell us what’s going on!