0

Update

When I posted earlier that Cal said it wouldn’t have any comment until tomorrow, I was speaking of folks inside the athletic department. Our metro reporter, Kristin Bender, who has been doing a superb job following the case, has a story stating essentially that Cal has won the case. It sounds as though the Save the Oaks group definitely plans on appealing, and the City of Berkeley’s city council apparently will meet Thursday to discuss the next course of action. So the question really comes down to this: Will the court of appeals keep the injunction in place? Stay tuned.

Jonathan Okanes

Jonathan Okanes is in his fourth year covering Cal's football team. Previously, he covered Cal's men's basketball team for four years. He can also be followed on Twitter at twitter.com/OkanesonCal.

  • Ozone

    Thanks for keeping us updated Jonathan. The Bearinsider site is in the process of moving over to ESPN, so many of us are craving information. Thanks again.

  • Jan K Oski

    Will the court of appeals keep the injunction in place? According to the resident lawyers at calforniagoldenblogs.com the appeal court placing a new 20 day injunction is slim… Great news, if true.

  • Chris

    From what I understand, the city’s decision whether or not to appeal is key. I read that if the city does not appeal, all other parties appealing will have to put up millions of dollars in order to keep the injunction in place during the appeals process. If the city does appeal, no money will have to be put up because the city has special status under the rules of Civil Procedure.

  • dball

    I’m flyyyyiiiiiiinnnnnnngggggggggggg……SPLAT! [the sound of treesitters coming down]!

  • Gerson_Bakar

    #3 Chris: excellent point/insight.

    That said, if there was ever a time for the bear to roar, it is now, my friends. What can the cal fan base do in the next day to get our voice heard by the berkeley city council and mayor bates?

    Cal bloggers and readers must all make our voices heard in berkeley and shut the door on this.

  • Steve in Concord

    Hope the crazy leaders of Berkeley don’t appeal and the projects get going real soon. Evict the tree sitters! Go Bears!

  • Kensington

    Here are email addresses if you want to send a message:

    Tom Bates…… mayor@ci.berkeley.ca.us
    Laurie Capitelli………….LCapitelli@ci.berkeley.ca.us
    Linda Maio……….. lmaio@ci.berkeley.ca.us
    Darryl Moore………. dmoore@ci.berkeley.ca.us
    Max Anderson……….. manderson@ci.berkeley.ca.us
    Kriss Worthington……… kworthington@ci.berkeley.ca.us
    Gordon Wozniak………. gwozniak@ci.berkeley.ca.us
    Betty Olds…………………..olds@ci.berkeley.ca.us

    There is a nice model letter on California Golden Blogs.

    Go Bears!!