Football: Team awards

Cal held its annual end-of-the-year banquet tonight and handed out its team awards. Here is the rundown:

–KEN HARVEY AWARD (Player showing special academic commitment and improvement): Bernard Hicks

–EVERETT MERRIMAN AWARD (Player demonstrating a commitment to community service): Sean Young

–DINK ARTAL AWARD (Player best exemplifying Cal spirit): Devin Bishop


–KEN COTTON AWARD (Most courageous player): Anthony Felder (defense), Nate Longshore (offense)

–LIFTER OF THE YEAR: Dominic Galas (freshman), Anthony Felder (senior)

–SCOUT TEAM PLAYERS OF THE YEAR: Beau Sweeney and Spencer Ladner (offense), Aaron Tipoti and Nick Rosato (defense) and Charles Satchell (special teams)

–SCHLESSINGER COACHES AWARD (Outstanding athletic ability, academic success and community service): Alex Mack

–BOB TESSIER AWARD (Most improved offensive and defensive linemen): Mitchell Schwartz (offense), Rulon Davis (defense)

–BRICK MULLER AWARD (Most valuable offensive and defensive linemen): Alex Mack (offense), Tyson Alualu (defense).

–BOB SIMMONS AWARD (Most valuable freshman): Bryan Anger

–J. SCOTT DUNCAN AWARD (Most valuable special teams player): Mike Mohamed


–ANDY SMITH AWARD (Player with the most Big C playing time: Syd’Quan Thompson

–BERKELEY BREAKFAST CLUB AWARD (Outstanding player in the Big Game): Jahvid Best (offense), Zack Follett (defense)

–MOST VALUABLE BACK: Jahvid Best (offense), Syd’Quan Thompson (defense)

–JOE ROTH AWARD: Will Ta’ufo’ou

–CORT MAJORS AWARD (Team captains): Alex Mack (offense), Zack Follett (defense)

–BEAR BACKERS AWARD (Most valuable player as voted by team): Alex Mack and Jahvid Best (offense), Zack Follett (defense)

Jonathan Okanes

Jonathan Okanes is in his fourth year covering Cal's football team. Previously, he covered Cal's men's basketball team for four years. He can also be followed on Twitter at twitter.com/OkanesonCal.