Basketball: Self wins top coach award

Bill Self, who has directed Kansas back into the Sweet 16 a year after losing all five starters from the Jayhawks’ national championship team, has won the U.S. Basketball Writers Coach of the Year award.

Cal’s’ Mike Montgomery was among the other finalists for the award.

Jeff Faraudo