Basketball: Another honor for Randle

One day after being named Pac-10 Player of the Year by the league’s coaches, Cal senior Jerome Randle was chosen as the U.S. Basketball Writers Association’s District IX Player of the Year.

District IX encompasses California, Oregon, Washington, Arizona, Hawaii and Alaska. Here are all of the USBWA district teams.

Patrick Christopher joined Randle on the 10-man team, each a repeat selection.

Omar Samhan (Danville-San Ramon Valley HS) of recently crowned West Coast Conference championn Saint Mary’s College and Adrian Oliver of San Jose State also were picked to the team. Arizona State’s Herb Sendek was voted District IX Coach of the Year.

Colorado junior Cory Higgins (Danville-Monte Vista HS) was a repeat choice on the District VIII squad, joined by Weber State sophomore Damian Lillard (Oakland HS). District VIII covers Wyoming, Utah, Colorado, Idaho, New Mexico, Nevada and Montana.

Jeff Faraudo