Football: Allen, Holt, Kendricks reap team MVPs

Wide receiver Keenan Allen was named offensive MVP and D.J. Holt and Mychal Kendricks shared defensive honors at Cal’s 2011 awards banquet.

Here are all the Bears’ award winners:

2011 Cal Football Team Awards

Ken Harvey Award (Player showing special academic commitment and improvement)
Marvin Jones

Stub Allison Award (Most Inspirational Player)
Will Kapp

Dink Artal Award (Player best exemplifying Cal spirit)
Offense – Will Kapp
Defense – Ernest Owusu

Ken Cotton Award (Most Courageous Player)
Offense – Isi Sofele
Defense – Aaron Tipoti

Most Improved Player
D.J. Campbell

Lifter of the Year
Freshman – Daniel Lasco
Senior – Justin Cheadle

Scout Team Players of the Year
Offense – Geoffrey Gibson and Daniel Lasco
Defense – Puka Lopa
Special Teams – Nathan Broussard

Schlessinger Coaches Award (Outstanding athletic ability, academic success and community service)
Giorgio Tavecchio

J. Scott Duncan Award (Most Valuable Special Teams Player)
Bryan Anger

Bob Tessier Award (Most Improved Lineman)
Offense – Justin Cheadle
Defense – Aaron Tipoti

Brick Muller Award (Most Valuable Lineman)
Offense – Mitchell Schwartz
Defense – Trevor Guyton

Berkeley Breakfast Club Award (Outstanding Player in Big Game)
Offense – Zach Maynard
Defense – Mychal Kendricks

Everett Merriman Award (Demonstrating commitment to community service)
Robert Mullins

Andy Smith Award (Player with most Big “C” time)
Offense – Matt Summers-Gavin
Defense – Sean Cattouse
Special Teams – Chris Moncrease

Most Valuable Back
Offense – Isi Sofele
Defense – D.J. Campbell

Joe Roth Award (Player best exemplifying courage, attitude and sportsmanship)
Trevor Guyton

Pac-12 All-Academic Players
First Team – Mark Brazinski, Ernest Owusu, Mitchell Schwartz, John Tyndall
Second Team – Will Kapp, Matt Summers-Gavin, Giorgio Tavecchio
Honorable Mention – Dan Camporeale, Justin Cheadle

Pappy Waldorf Coaches Award
Offense – Anthony Miller
Defense – Sean Cattouse

Cort Majors Captains Awards
Offense – Marvin Jones and Mitchell Schwartz
Defense – Trevor Guyton and D.J. Holt

Bear Backers MVP Awards (voted on by team)
Offense – Keenan Allen
Defense – D.J. Holt and Mychal Kendricks

Click here for the full news release. Here’s a video presentation from Cal’s website.

Jeff Faraudo

  • Juancho