Basketball: Kamp, Gutierrez sweep awards

Seniors Harper Kamp and Jorge Gutierrez swept the major awards Wednesday night at Cal’s team banquet.
Kamp was named team MVP, an award named after legendary former Cal coach Nibs Price.
Gutierrez earned Defensive Player of the Year honors for the fourth consecutive year. No previous Cal player had won the award more than twice.
The two shared the 2012 Pete Newell Coach’s Award and were co-winners of the team’s Senior Award.
Sophomore guard Allen Crabbe earned the Darrall Imhoff Award as the Bears’ top rebounder (5.7) and the Free Throw Award (.843).
Sophomore Justin Cobbs was honored with the Jason Kidd Award as the team’s assist leader (4.9) amd junior Robert Thurman claimed the Field Goal Percentate Award (.638).

Jeff Faraudo