Basketball: Dave Butler to Pac-12 Hall of Honor

Dave Butler, a four-year (1983-86) starting forward who helped Cal to its first postseason bid in 26 seasons, will be inducted into the Pac-12 Basketball Hall of Honor on March 14 during the conference tournament at Las Vegas.

Butler still ranks 19th on Cal’s career scoring list (1,291 points) and sixth in rebounding (814). He was Pac-10 Freshman of the Year in 1983 and led the Bears in rebounding three times.

He still holds the Cal record of 113 career starts and set single-game school marks of 20 free throws made and 24 attempts against Arizona State in 1987.

Butler and the Bears ended a 26-year postseason drought with an NIT appearance in 1986, and they returned the next year, advancing to the tournament’s quarterfinals.

He was a fifth-round draft pick of the Boston Celtics in 1987 and was inducted into the Cal Athletic Hall of Fame in 2011.

Butler twice was named a first-team Pac-10 All-Academic pick and as a senior was a first-team Academic All-American. A Rhodes Scholar candidate, Butler earned his undergrad degree in 1986 and an MBA from Cal’s Haas School of Business in 1990.

Butler is part of a 2014 induction class that also includes Luke Walton (Arizona), Verl Heap (Arizona State), Ken Charlton (Colorado), Frederick Jones (Oregon), Lee Harman (Oregon State), Mark Madsen (Stanford), Tyus Edney (UCLA), Wayne Carlander (USC), Billy McGill (Utah), Brandon Roy (Washington) and Ed Gayda (Washington State).

Cal’s past inductees: Pete Newell (2002), Kevin Johnson (2003), Jason Kidd (2004), Darrall Imhoff (2005), Andy Wolfe (2006), Russ Critchfield (2007), Charles Johnson (2008), Nibs Price (2009), Earl Robinson (2010), Bob McKeen (2011), Lamond Murray (2012) and Shareef Abdur-Rahim (2013).


Jeff Faraudo