Last-minute jitters

With a crowd of power plant opponents before them, the Hayward City Council last night considered an unprecedented “emergency” move to revert its 2005 land-use approval of the Russell City Energy Center. After discussion, it backed off on the idea because of clear lack of consensus and concern it might violate open meeting law.

Now the decision goes to these five people at a 10:30 a.m. hearing in Sacramento:


The California Energy Commission is governed by a board of five appointed commissioners. By law, each member is supposed to represent a specific area: engineering or physics; environmental protection; economics; law; and the public-at-large.

Jackalyne Pfannenstiel (Chair)
Designation: The environmentalist
Lives in: Piedmont
Appointed: April 2004 by Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger
Background: Worked for PG&E Corp. from 1980 to 2000, last serving as vice president of strategic planning; energy policy consultant from 2001 to 2004; previously worked for the California Public Utilities Commission and the Connecticut Public Utilities Commission

James Boyd (Vice chair)
Designation: The economist
Lives in: Sacramento
Appointed: Feb. 2002 by Gov. Gray Davis and reappointed in Feb. 2007 by Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger
Background: Executive officer of the California Air Resources Board from 1981 to 1996; was deputy secretary for the California Resources Agency; created and chaired the state’s first Climate Change Team and the state’s Natural Gas Working Group.

Arthur Rosenfeld
Designation: The scientist
Lives in: Berkeley
Appointed: April 2000 by Gov. Gray Davis and reappointed in Jan. 2005 by Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger
Background: After a career studying experimental particle physics, switched to investigating efficient energy use in the 1970s and founded the Center for Building Science at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, leading it until 1994. Cofounder of the American Council for an Energy Efficient Economy.

John Geesman
Designation: The attorney
Lives in: Orinda
Appointed: July 2002 by Gov. Gray Davis and again in Dec. 2003
Background: Executive director of the California Energy Commission from 1979 to 1983; investment banker from 1983 to 2002; served on the boards of the California Independent System Operator, California Power Exchange and the Utility Reform Network, a utility ratepayer advocacy group.

Jeffrey Byron
Designation: The public-at-large
Lives in: Los Altos
Appointed: June 2006 by Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger
Background: Energy consultant and co-chair of the Silicon Valley Leadership Council’s Energy Committee; director of business development for Enerwise Global Technologies (2001 to 2002); director of business development for Calpine C*Power (2000 to 2001); energy director for Oracle Corporation (1996 to 2000); founder of Bright Line Energy (1995 to 1996); worked at Electric Power Research Institute (1985 to 1995)