Part of the Bay Area News Group

National Merit Scholarship semifinalists revealed

By Jonathan Morales
Wednesday, September 14th, 2011 at 11:04 am in Lafayette, Lamorinda, Moraga, Orinda, Schools.

Orinda’s got the most, with 12 Miramonte High School students on the list. Campolindo has 10. Five are from Lafayette: three from Acalanes and two from Bentley.

They are among about 16,000 semifinalists nationwide competing for more than 8,000 National Merit Scholarships. That’s pared down from about 1.5 million high school juniors who enter the contest by taking the PSAT test, according to the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

The semifinalists must submit a detailed scholarship application, including an essay and information about their participation and leadership in school and community activities. Winners will be announced next April through July.

The finalists are:

Acalanes High School: Annalise Baer, Ariana Johnson and Sean Mooney.

Bentley School: Elizabeth Hsieh and David Little

Campolindo High School: Colin Bennett, Vinson Compestine, Ciaran Evans, Keith Geiger, Kevin Gelston, Colton Jang, Jessica Kathan, Marie Lu, Peter Shweh and Colin Wong.

Miramonte High School: Justin Ahmann, David Baker, Jason Blore, Sophia Bollag, Alexander Chen, Robert Fluegge, Syed Ali Hasanain, Samantha Kaufhold, Kathleen Stanaro, Courtney Tran, Eric Wu and Hayley Young.

[You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.]

Leave a Reply