Asomugha, Lechler named AP All-Pro


Punter Shane Lechler and free-agent-to-be cornerback Nnamdi Asomugha were both named to the Associated Press All-Pro team Monday as selected by a panel of 50 media members.

Lechler’s selection comes as a mild surprise in that lost out to Mat McBriar of Dallas in terms of both gross punting (47.9 to 47.0) and net punting (41.7 to 40.8). Lechler did have fewer touchbacks (8 for McBriar, 4 for Lechler) and placed 27 punts inside the 20 to 22 for McBriar.

Asomugha was teamed with Darrelle Revis as the All-Pro cornerback on the basis of his reputation as a cover corner. He did not give up a touchdown pass this season despite struggling through part of the season with an ankle injury, missing one game outright.

The only Raider who merited second-team mention was free safety Michael Huff, one of seven players to tie for the second safety position along with Green Bay’s Nick Harris. Huff, Antrel Rolle (Giants), Eric Weddle (Chargers), Malcolm Jenkins (New Orleans), Quintin Mikell (Eagles), Chris Harris (Bears), Michael Griffin (Titans) Darren Sharper (Saints) were tied, meaning each probably received a single vote.

Asomugha is also a candidate for the Walter Payton Award, which recognizes community service as well as on-field play. The winner will be announced before Super Bowl XLV. Other candidates are Israel Idonije of the Chicago Bears and Madieu Williams of the Minnesota Vikings.


Jerry McDonald - NFL Writer

  • Alex

    Because Sanjai was retained does not necessarily mean Jackson had no objections.