Flynn in the 2008 draft


The 11 quarterbacks selected ahead of Matt Flynn in the 2008 NFL Draft:

1/3 Matt Ryan, Boston College, Atlanta Falcons

1/18 Joe Flacco, Delaware, Baltimore Ravens

2/56 Brian Brohm, Lousville, Green Bay Packers

2/57 Chad Henne, Michigan, Miami Dolphins

3/94 Kevin O’Connell, San Diego State, New England Patriots

5/137 John David Booty, USC, Minnesota Vikings

5/156 Dennis Dixon, Oregon, Pittsburgh Steelers

5/160/ Josh Johnson, U. of San Diego, Tampa Bay Buccaneers

5/162 Erik Ainge, Tennessee, New York Jets

6/186 Colt Brennan, Hawaii, Washington Redskins

6/198 Andre Woodson, Kentucky, New York Giants

Note: Green Bay selected Flynn in the seventh round, No. 209 overall, and Washington made Alex Brink of Washington State the final quarterback taken in the draft at No. 223.


Jerry McDonald - NFL Writer

  • http://bleacherreport.com/articles/1589023-breaking-down-what-the-matt-flynn-trade-means-for-oakland-raiders

    Several general managers and scouts told Jeff Diamond of Sports Illustrated last March that Flynn had “good to very good” arm strength, release, accuracy, athleticism and mobility in the pocket. Flynn was also described as a hard worker, smart, composed and competitive. Flynn appears to have the tools to be a success when given a chance.

  • ArtilleryShell

    I’m good with the trade terms. Smart move for a guy I was starting to doubt, especially if he gets Flynn to accept less $ and help our (dead) cap situation. If Flynn wants a chance to play, he should accept like $4mil and Palmer pay cut or restructure should be done while he’s still a Raider so it could help our cap, too.

    Respect and good luck, Carson.

    Poor McFadden, he must be saying, “this is my last year here.”

  • ArtilleryShell

    I nought trading accelerates cap money, too?

  • ArtilleryShell


  • Purvisman/Intrepid/Eternal Optimist

    Offensive ROTY Winners (1967–present)
    Season Player Team Position
    1967 Mel Farr Detroit Lions Running back
    1968 Earl McCullouch Detroit Lions Wide receiver
    1969 Calvin Hill Dallas Cowboys Running back
    1970 Dennis Shaw Buffalo Bills Quarterback
    1971 John Brockington Green Bay Packers Running back
    1972 Franco Harris Pittsburgh Steelers Running back
    1973 Chuck Foreman Minnesota Vikings Running back
    1974 Don Woods San Diego Chargers Running back
    1975 Mike Thomas Washington Redskins Running back
    1976 Sammy White Minnesota Vikings Wide receiver
    1977 Tony Dorsett Dallas Cowboys Running back
    1978 Earl Campbell Houston Oilers Running back
    1979 Ottis Anderson St. Louis Cardinals Running back
    1980 Billy Sims Detroit Lions Running back
    1981 George Rogers New Orleans Saints Running back
    1982 Marcus Allen Los Angeles Raiders Running back
    1983 Eric Dickerson Los Angeles Rams Running back
    1984 Louis Lipps Pittsburgh Steelers Wide receiver
    1985 Eddie Brown Cincinnati Bengals Wide receiver
    1986 Rueben Mayes New Orleans Saints Running back
    1987 Troy Stradford Miami Dolphins Running back
    1988 John Stephens New England Patriots Running back
    1989 Barry Sanders Detroit Lions Running back
    1990 Emmitt Smith Dallas Cowboys Running back
    1991 Leonard Russell New England Patriots Running back
    1992 Carl Pickens Cincinnati Bengals Wide receiver
    1993 Jerome Bettis Los Angeles Rams Running back
    1994 Marshall Faulk Indianapolis Colts Running back
    1995 Curtis Martin New England Patriots Running back
    1996 Eddie George Houston Oilers Running back
    1997 Warrick Dunn Tampa Bay Buccaneers Running back
    1998 Randy Moss Minnesota Vikings Wide receiver
    1999 Edgerrin James Indianapolis Colts Running back
    2000 Mike Anderson Denver Broncos Running back
    2001 Anthony Thomas Chicago Bears Running back
    2002 Clinton Portis Denver Broncos Running back
    2003 Anquan Boldin Arizona Cardinals Wide receiver
    2004 Ben Roethlisberger Pittsburgh Steelers Quarterback
    2005 Cadillac Williams Tampa Bay Buccaneers Running back
    2006 Vince Young Tennessee Titans Quarterback
    2007 Adrian Peterson Minnesota Vikings Running back
    2008 Matt Ryan Atlanta Falcons Quarterback
    2009 Percy Harvin Minnesota Vikings Wide receiver
    2010 Sam Bradford St. Louis Rams Quarterback
    2011 Cam Newton Carolina Panthers Quarterback
    2012 Robert Griffin III[5] Washington Redskins Quarterback

  • Purvisman/Intrepid/Eternal Optimist

    Defensive ROTY Winners (1967–present)
    Season Player Team Position
    1967 Lem Barney Detroit Lions Cornerback
    1968 Claude Humphrey Atlanta Falcons Defensive end
    1969 Joe Greene Pittsburgh Steelers Defensive tackle
    1970 Bruce Taylor San Francisco 49ers Cornerback
    1971 Isiah Robertson Los Angeles Rams Linebacker
    1972 Willie Buchanon Green Bay Packers Cornerback
    1973 Wally Chambers Chicago Bears Defensive tackle
    1974 Jack Lambert Pittsburgh Steelers Linebacker
    1975 Robert Brazile Houston Oilers Linebacker
    1976 Mike Haynes New England Patriots Cornerback
    1977 A.J. Duhe Miami Dolphins Defensive end
    1978 Al Baker Detroit Lions Defensive end
    1979 Jim Haslett Buffalo Bills Linebacker
    1980 Buddy Curry co-winner Atlanta Falcons Linebacker
    1980 Al Richardson co-winner Atlanta Falcons Linebacker
    1981 Lawrence Taylor New York Giants Linebacker
    1982 Chip Banks Cleveland Browns Linebacker
    1983 Vernon Leroy Maxwell Baltimore Colts Linebacker
    1984 Bill Maas Kansas City Chiefs Defensive tackle
    1985 Duane Bickett Indianapolis Colts Linebacker
    1986 Leslie O’Neal San Diego Chargers Defensive end
    1987 Shane Conlan Buffalo Bills Linebacker
    1988 Erik McMillan New York Jets Safety
    1989 Derrick Thomas Kansas City Chiefs Linebacker
    1990 Mark Carrier Chicago Bears Safety
    1991 Mike Croel Denver Broncos Linebacker
    1992 Dale Carter Kansas City Chiefs Cornerback
    1993 Dana Stubblefield San Francisco 49ers Defensive tackle
    1994 Tim Bowens Miami Dolphins Defensive tackle
    1995 Hugh Douglas New York Jets Defensive end
    1996 Simeon Rice Arizona Cardinals Defensive end
    1997 Peter Boulware Baltimore Ravens Linebacker
    1998 Charles Woodson Oakland Raiders Cornerback
    1999 Jevon Kearse Tennessee Titans Defensive end
    2000 Brian Urlacher Chicago Bears Linebacker
    2001 Kendrell Bell Pittsburgh Steelers Linebacker
    2002 Julius Peppers Carolina Panthers Defensive end
    2003 Terrell Suggs Baltimore Ravens Linebacker
    2004 Jonathan Vilma New York Jets Linebacker
    2005 Shawne Merriman San Diego Chargers Linebacker
    2006 DeMeco Ryans Houston Texans Linebacker
    2007 Patrick Willis San Francisco 49ers Linebacker
    2008 Jerod Mayo New England Patriots Linebacker
    2009 Brian Cushing Houston Texans Linebacker
    2010 Ndamukong Suh Detroit Lions Defensive tackle
    2011 Von Miller Denver Broncos Linebacker
    2012 Luke Kuechly[6] Carolina Panthers Linebacker