Part of the Bay Area News Group

Ackerman, Strickland to chair Romney’s team

By Josh Richman
Wednesday, April 11th, 2007 at 8:57 am in Assembly, California State Senate, General, Mitt Romney.

romney.jpg2008 Republican presidential candidate and former Massachusetts Gov. Mitt Romney today announced the first 15 members of his California Leadership Team, with state Senate Republican Leader Dick Ackerman, R-Irvine, and former Assemblyman, 2006 state Controller candidate and current state Senate candidate Tony Strickland as chairman.

“I am honored to have the backing of these dedicated leaders in the Golden State,” Romney said in a statement. “Their record of service is proof that President Reagan’s legacy is alive and well in California. We all believe that strong and unflinching leadership is once again needed to restore fiscal sanity in Washington, D.C.”

Said Ackerman: “The Republican Party must reestablish itself as the guardian of fiscal responsibility, and Governor Romney is the right leader to make that happen.”

Said Strickland: “Governor Romney accomplished an impressive feat by bringing fiscal discipline to one of the nation’s most liberal states. As a lifelong fiscal conservative, I am troubled by the spending binge we’ve seen at the federal level. Our nation needs a strong and tested leader like Mitt Romney to put our nation’s finances back on track.”

Romney wowed pundits by raising $21 million in the first quarter of this year (of which $2.35 million came from his own pocket), but has yet to gain much traction in the polls.

Besides Ackerman and Strickland, the members are:

  • Assemblyman Anthony Adams, R-Monrovia
  • Former Assembly Leader Scott Baugh, Huntington Beach
  • Former Assemblyman and Republican Caucus Chair Russ Bough, Yucaipa
  • Congressman John Campbell, R-Newport Beach
  • Fresno City Councilman Jerry Duncan, Fresno
  • State Senator Bob Dutton, R-Rancho Cucamonga
  • Assemblyman Doug LaMalfa, R-Richvale
  • State Senator Bob Margett, R-Glendora
  • Rep. Buck McKeon, R-Santa Clarita
  • Former California Republican Party Chairman Mike Schroeder, Corona del Mar
  • Assemblyman Jim Silva, R-Huntington Beach
  • Assemblywoman Audra Strickland, R-Moorpark
  • State Senator Mark Wyland, R-Carlsbad
  • [You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.]