Orinda students win C-SPAN competition

Tyler Pavey, Lana Olmer and Scott DeMunck, students at Miramonte High School in Orinda, will be interviewed live Tuesday at 11:30 A.M. PST on C-SPAN’s “Washington Journal.”

The students have won third prize in C-SPAN’s StudentCam, http://www.studentcam.org/, a video documentary contest that invites middle and high school students to produce a video on a current political issue using C-SPAN programming.

The students’ video will air on C-SPAN on Tuesday at 9:50 a.m. PST when the documentary, “The Climate Change Controversy,” about global warming airs in its entirety, followed by a live phone interview with Lana Olmer at 11:30 a.m. PST during “Washington Journal,” C-SPAN’s live viewer call-in program.

The documentary is available to download or stream from the competition’s Web site, http://www.studentcam.org.

“The creative expression on a range of timely subjects, from immigration to global warming and the care of Iraq war veterans, makes this a standout year for the StudentCam competition,” said Joanne Wheeler, vice president of education relations at C-SPAN in a prepared release. “Our commitment to air the winning videos over four weeks and post them online gives our audience the opportunity to hear from today’s young people about some of the major issues facing their communities and the nation.”

The StudentCam competition awards 45 winners accompanied by $25,000 in cash awards, including a grand prize winner plus two, first prize winners; eight, second prize winners; 14, third prize winners; and 20 honorable mentions in middle and high school categories.

The top 25 videos will air on C-SPAN, one each day, starting on May 14, at 6:50 a.m. ET, followed by a live phone interview with the winning students at 8:30 a.m. ET. Video of each interview is archived online at http://www.studentcam.org.

According to a C-SPAN release, the videos were judged by a panel of C-SPAN representatives and evaluated based on the thoughtful examination of the contest theme, quality of expression, adherence to the 10-minute time limit, the balance of views presented and use of C-SPAN programming. The annual competition is sponsored by C-SPAN Classroom, http://www.c-spanclassroom.org a free membership service dedicated to support educators’ use of C-SPAN in their classes or for research.

Lisa Vorderbrueggen