Piepho and Houston line up for endorsements

Let the battle for endorsements begin.

Contra Costa County Supervisor Mary Nejedly Piepho, who learned last week that her former boss and political mentor, Assemblyman Guy Houston, planned to run against her, is fighting back with a long list of endorsements.

Many of these folks endorsed Houston in his past three Assembly campaigns but when forced to choose between the two Republicans seeking the same seat, they surfaced in Piepho’s camp.

Several on Piepho’s list are prominent Democrats, including Orinda Councilwoman Amy Worth, Community College District Trustee Tomi Van de Brooke and Martinez Councilman Mark Ross. (Yes, the supervisor seat is nonpartisan but party politics are never too far from consideration.)

Houston has snared some high-profile endorsements of his own, including Contra Costa Sheriff Warren Rupf, Contra Costa Tax Collector Bill Pollacek, Contra Costa Assessor Gus Kramer and state labor leader Jim Kellogg. Kramer and Kellogg are Democrats.

His other endorsements include San Ramon Valley School Board Trustee Bill Clarkson, former Brentwood Mayor Brian Swisher, Brentwood Councilman Chris Becnel, Danville Councilwoman Candace Anderson, Alameda County Supervisor Scott Haggerty and Dublin Mayor Janet Lockhart.

Piepho’s partial endorsement list includes:

Former Assemblywoman Lynne Leach and her husband, Bob
Contra Costa District Attorney Bob Kochly
Contra Costa Water District President Joe Campell
Antioch Councilman Arne Simonsen
Concord Councilwoman Helen Allen
Danville Mayor Mike Shimansky
Danville Councilwoman Karen Stepper and Danville Councilmen Mike Doyle and Newell Arenrich
Martinez Mayor Rob Schroder
Martinez Councilman Mark Ross
Oakley Councilwoman Carol Rios
San Ramon Mayor Abram Wilson
San Raman councilmembers Dave Hudson, Scott Perkins, Jim Livingstone and Carol Rowley
San Pablo Mayor Paul Morris
Walnut Creek Councilman Charlie Abrams
East Bay Regional Park District Director Ted Radke
Contra Costa Community College District Trustee Tomi Van de Brooke
Bryon Union School District Chairwoman Lisa Hultz;
East Bay Municipal Utility District Director John A. Coleman
San Ramon Valley School District Trustee Greg Marvel
Contra Costa County Planning Commissioner Richard Clark
Martinez Unified School District President Vicki Gordon
Contra Costa County Fire Commissioner Bill Granados
Former Walnut Creek Mayor Kathy Hicks
Central Contra Costa County Sanitary District President Jim Nejedly (he is Piepho’s brother) and Director Mike Gill
Martinez school principal Helen Rossi
Contra Costa County Grand Jury Forewoman Olga Jones
Orinda Councilwoman Amy Worth
Retired Brentwood school superintendent Bill Bristow
Pleasant Hill Taxpayers Association President Jack Weir

Lisa Vorderbrueggen