Part of the Bay Area News Group

Lee to be a vice chair of LGBT equality caucus

By Josh Richman
Wednesday, June 4th, 2008 at 12:55 pm in Anna Eshoo, Barbara Lee, Ellen Tauscher, General, Lynn Woolsey, Mike Honda, Pete Stark, U.S. House, Zoe Lofgren.

Rep. Barbara Lee, D-Oakland, today announced she’ll be one of 20 vice-chairs of Congress’ new, bi-partisan Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Equality Caucus.

lee-at-lgbt-caucus-news-conference.JPG“I am so proud to be a part of the LGBT Equality Caucus, and I want to thank our great leaders and Co-Chairs, Tammy Baldwin and Barney Frank, for their critical leadership in fighting for equality for all,” Lee said at a Capitol Hill news conference. “As a Californian, I am proud to say that our great state is helping lead the fight for equality. But despite some of the progress being made, this caucus and its members are here today because we understand that much more needs to be done to ensure the human rights for LGBT people at home and abroad.

“We understand that we must and will push our colleagues and our country to put an end to the discriminatory laws that still undermine the equality we seek for LGBT people,” she continued. “We will work to educate and legislate and to ensure the equality that people deserve regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity. We believe we can and will make great progress in our efforts because we know that the fight for equality is the fight for justice and that this fight is one we will win.”

Rep. Mike Honda, D-San Jose, also is among this new caucus’ vice chairs. And among the two-and-a-half-dozen members are Anna Eshoo, D-Palo Alto; Zoe Lofgren, D-San Jose; Pete Stark, D-Fremont; Ellen Tauscher, D-Alamo; and Lynn Woolsey, D-Petaluma.

[You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.]