A recap of Tuesday’s inaugural festivities

Here’s the order of events for the actual swearing-in tomorrow, starting at about 11:30 a.m. EST (or for us here on the West Coast, 8:30 a.m. PST):
• Musical Selections: The United States Marine Band, followed by the San Francisco Boys Chorus and the San Francisco Girls Chorus
• Call to Order and Welcoming Remarks: Senator Dianne Feinstein
• Invocation: Dr. Rick Warren
• Musical Selection: Aretha Franklin
• Vice President-elect Joseph R. Biden, Jr. will be sworn into office by Associate Justice of the Supreme Court, the Honorable John Paul Stevens
• Musical Selection: John Williams, composer/arranger with Itzhak Perlman (violin), Yo-Yo Ma (cello), Gabriela Montero (piano) and Anthony McGill (clarinet)
• President-elect Barack H. Obama will take the Oath of Office, using President Lincoln’s Inaugural Bible, administered by the Chief Justice of the United States, the Honorable John G. Roberts Jr.
• Inaugural Address
• Poem: Elizabeth Alexander
• Benediction: The Reverend Dr. Joseph E. Lowery
• The National Anthem: the United States Navy Band “Sea Chanters”

After the swearing-in, President Barack Obama, Vice President Joseph Biden, and their families will attend an inaugural luncheon hosted by the Joint Congressional Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies.

Then, at about 2:30 p.m. EST (11:30 a.m. PST), comes the Inaugural Parade, with more than 10,000 people from all 50 states following the new President and Vice President down the 1.5-mile route from the Capitol to the White House; click here for a complete, ordered list of the parade participants.

And at 7 p.m. EST (4 p.m. PST) comes the Neighborhood Ball at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center, with musical performances by Beyonce, Mary J. Blige, Mariah Carey, Faith Hill, Jay-Z, Alicia Keys, Shakira, Stevie Wonder and Nick Cannon (as DJ). KGO Channel 7 ABC will air the event from 8 to 10 p.m. PST, but it’ll also will be linked live online with with neighborhood ball parties happening across the country; find or host your own party.

Josh Richman

Josh Richman covers state and national politics for the Bay Area News Group. A New York City native, he earned a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Missouri and reported for the Express-Times of Easton, Pa. for five years before coming to the Oakland Tribune and ANG Newspapers in 1997. He is a frequent guest on KQED Channel 9’s “This Week in Northern California;” a proud father; an Eagle Scout; a somewhat skilled player of low-stakes poker; a rather good cook; a firm believer in the use of semicolons; and an unabashed political junkie who will never, EVER seek elected office.