Redistricting panel members selected

Three Bay Area residents are among the eight people randomly selected this morning to serve on California’s new Redistricting Commission, a voter-created panel that will eventually consist of 14 individuals responsible for drawing the political boundaries of congressional, board of equalization and state legislative districts.

State Auditor Elaine Howle drew the names bingo style a few minutes ago from a pool of 36 that included 12 Democrats, 12 Republicans and 12 people non-affiliated with a political party or members of the third parties. The first eight members must select the remaining six members of their panel before Dec. 31. The first eight are:

  • Connie Galambos Malloy, Oakland, non-partisan
  • Stanley Forbes, Esparto, non-partisan
  • Cynthia Dai, San Francisco, Democrat
  • Elaine Kuo, Mountain View, Democrat
  • Jeanne Raya, San Gabriel, Democrat
  • Vincent Barabba, Capitola, Republican
  • Jodie Filkins Webber, Norco, Republican
  • Peter Yao, Claremont, Republican

East Bay residents who remain in the pool and eligible for selection include Maria Blanco, of El Cerrito; Tangerine Mignon Brigham, of Oakland; Sherman Gee, of Castro Valley; William Giles Hamm, of Lafayette; Paul McKaskle, of Berkeley; and Brightstar Ohlson, of Oakland.

Voters created the panel in 2008, stripping the Legislature of the job, and expanded the commission’s role earlier this month to include congressional districts.

For a full set of FAQ’s on the commission, click here.

Lisa Vorderbrueggen

  • Common Tater

    In my best Arte Johnson accent, that’s Very Interesting…

    And what’s very interesting is that I have no clue as to what “non-partisan” means. Does it mean “Decline to State” which is the the dreaded DTS nomenclature feared by both big parties? Or does it mean “Independent” as in a free-thinking independent personage. (Note that we’re not talking American Independent Party here, folks).

    Or are the non-partisans TRULY non-partisan and have been living as hermits for the past 30 to 50 years and had no contact with the outside world and have made no political decisions

    In any event, I don’t recall a designation on the ballot for “non-partisan” as a political affiliation. Certainly there are several non-partisan elected positions but no “non-partisan” political parties.

    What gives here? I would like to know how these non-parts are registered to vote. Or are they registered to vote?

    Inquiring minds want to know why this information is obscure, seemingly deliberately so.

  • Lisa Vorderbrueggen

    Common Tater: Sorry if I provided unclear information. In this case, non-partisan means these individuals are registered “decline to state.” It means they are not affiliated with any particular party. Most members of the pool of 12 people who are not Republicans or Democrats are DTS although some are listed as “other” or as members of third parties. You have to have been continuously registered in one of these categories for five years and have voted in two of the last three general elections in order to qualify to serve on the commission.

  • scott tandy

    The first eight members would be wise to select William Hamm of Lafayette. He has the background and experience to do the job in an unbiased and non partisan manner. Hamm worked for learned from, the highly regarded and impartial, A. Alan Post and was the Legislative Analyst for the State Legislature for several years after Prop 13 passed. He would be a superb choice.

  • Common Tater

    Thank you. That brushes away my concern.

  • Ralph Hoffmann

    I was disqualified because I change my party affiliation about every 6 months. Does anyone know why party loyalty was a requirement to serve?

  • jskdn

    I didn’t apply because I had also changed my registration from independent to a party to vote in that party’s primary, changing back right afterward. I suspect that the method was chosen to create a balance in partisanship in what has been an extremely partisan endeavor. I’d like to know how the commission will proceed, what constraints are they bound by, and what outside influences on their process are allowed?