Water polo league champions

Here’s a look at the various 2009 league champions from the East Bay.

ACCAL: Alameda
BVAL: Heritage
DFAL: Acalanes
DVAL: Northgate
EBAL: De La Salle
MVAL: Washington
ACCAL: Piedmont
BVAL: Deer Valley*, Liberty
DFAL: Campolindo
DVAL: College Park
EBAL: Monte Vista
MVAL: Mission San Jose

*Deer Valley wins score differential

North Coast Section brackets are currently being determined and as soon as they are posted to the NCS website I’ll post seedings and first and second round matchups for both boys and girls here. This is the first year the seeding meeting will be closed to coaches (everything is submitted online) and the boys bracket, in particular, will be a tough one for the committee to sort out. Lots of parity this year, particularly among the teams that will be seeded in the 6-12 range.

The girls side is a little more clear cut, but the big news is that Monte Vista LOST yesterday for the first time since 2007. The Mustangs dropped the championship game of the NorCal tournament in Davis to Menlo-Atherton 4-3. I don’t know many of the details, but M-A’s defense must be incredible if it held Maggie Steffens to one goal and Kelly Mendoza scoreless. Anyways, Monte Vista will still get the No. 1 seed and should still be the heavy favorite to win its fourth-straight NCS title.

Stephanie Hammon