Barnes not retained as Arroyo coach

James Barnes said today that he has not been retained as Arroyo High’s football coach.
“They wanted a coach on campus who could have more interaction with the kids,” said Barnes, an off-campus coach who was the Dons’ coach for three seasons. “I have no ill feelings about Arroyo. It was a great experience … I learned a lot from it. I thank (principal) Larry (Smith) for bringing me in and allowing me to coach the program.”
Both Barnes and Smith said this had nothing to do with the situation involving Arroyo and the North Coast Section football playoffs this past season. The NCS office had not received an application from Arroyo by the stated deadline, said NCS commissioner Gil Lemmon. Barnes said that he sent the application before the deadline.
“I guess it didn’t go through on my end,” Barnes said.
Arroyo was 6-4 this past season and finished second in the West Alameda County Conference-Shoreline Divsion with a 4-1 record. Overall, Barnes was 16-15 in his three seasons at Arroyo.
Smith said that all walk-on coaches are let go after the season, then the job has to be posted internally at the site and at the district level.
Smith said that he is looking to hire an on-campus coach and that he had made a recommendation to the personnel department of the San Lorenzo Unified School District, but it has not been approved yet. Barnes said that Chad Sullivan, the linebackers coach last season, has been hired as his replacement. Athletic director Joe Delucchi confirmed that Sullivan has been hired.


All-EBAL football

Michael Hutchings (De La Salle) Sr.
First team offense
QB — Kyle Moreno (Amador Valley) Sr.; RB — Karris Johnson (California) Sr., Tiapepe Vitale (DLS) Sr.; WR — Jalen Avery (Monte Vista) Sr., Ray Hudson (Foothill) Sr.; TE — Mason Melin (MV) Sr.; OL — Zach Sturgill (Granada) Sr., Kevin Leathley (Cal) Sr., Alex Kim (San Ramon Valley) Sr., Larry Allen Jr. (DLS) Jr., Wade Ogburn (DLS) Sr., Nate Vickers (AV) Sr., Specialist — CJ Cornwell (Cal) Jr.; K — Matt Anderson (SRV) Sr.
First team defense
DL — Brendan Landman (MV) Jr., Griffith Gates (Foot) Sr., Victor Egu (DLS) Sr., Austin Hooper (DLS) Sr.; LB — Carson Milner (MV) Sr., Cody Shields (Foot) Sr., Ryan Dunn (SRV) Sr., DJ Moffitt (DLS) Sr.; DB — Allan Marion DLS) Sr., Kyle Campiotti (Gra) Sr., Drew Buckley (DLS) Sr.
Second team offense
QB — Cameron Birse (SRV) Sr.; RB — Zack Chang (MV) Sr., Marcus de la Pena (SRV) Jr., Dasmond Tautalatasi (DLS) Jr.; WR — Matt Turner (SRV) Sr., Grant Miller (AV) Sr.; TE — Jack Finney (Foot) Sr.; OL — Rhys Watkin (MV) Sr., Dominique Arotzarena (SRV) Jr., Jack Oswald (DLS) Sr., Jesse Cerdas (AV) Sr., Specialist — Casey Soltis (Gra) Jr.; K — Nate Grizti (Cal) Sr.
Second team defense
DL — Julian Buenrostro (Gra) Sr., Kevin Leathley (Cal) Sr., Armondo Roca (SRV) Jr., Jesse Cerdas (AV) Sr.; LB — Jack Finney (Foot) Sr., Nico Mendieta (Cal) Sr., Eric Yehl (SRV) Sr., Sam Peters (AV) Sr.; DB — Andrew Gubera (SRV) Sr., Brian Danis (SRV) Sr., Kevin Griffin (DLS) Jr.
Honorable mention offense
QB — Nikita Zamora (MV) Jr., Cameron Owen (Cal) Jr., Max Kreger (Livermore) Sr.; RB — Griffith Gates (Foot) Sr., Austin Terry (Cal) Sr., Louie Hernandez (Liv) Sr.; WR — J.J. Koski (SRV) So., Justin Cruz (AV) Sr., Kyle Greenan (AV) Sr.; OL — Jesse Martinez (Gra) Sr., Jack Chabolla (MV) Sr., Johann Bolt (F) Jr., Tyler Whisenhunt (Cal) So., Everett Powell (Liv) Jr., Sam Ogee (Liv) Jr., Collin Dal Porto (Foot) Sr.; K — John DeMaio (MV) Sr., Kevan Knaggs (AV) Jr.
Honorable mention defense
DL — Nick Pletschette (Gra) Sr., Richard Martinez (MV) Jr., Nick Turcotte (MV) Sr., Anthony Galan (Cal) Sr., Grant Badstubner (SRV) Sr., Xavier Banks (DLS) Sr., Nate Vickers (AV) Sr., Matt Luey (Foot) Jr., Sumner Houston (DLS) Jr.; LB — Daniel Hornett (Cal) Sr., Grant Sherrod (Cal) Sr., Kyle Greenan (AV) Sr., Mitch Mayo (AV) Sr., Gage Loge (Liv) Jr.; DB — Jamirr Holland (Foot) Jr., Zach McPherson (Liv) Sr., James Silva (Liv) So., Jake Lepere (Cal) Sr.


San Leandro track star Jones chooses Cal

San Leandro High track star Nijae Jones has made an oral commitment to Cal.
“They had a lot of the things I wanted for college. They had a nice atmosphere, a lot of diversity. The team had a family atmosphere,” said Jones, who also mentioned the coaches and the top-notch education at Cal.
Jones said she also considered Central Florida. Jones finished sixth in the California Interscholastic Federation state girls 800 meter final in June with an excellent time of 2 minutes, 10.39 seconds.


NorCal Open Division final to be televised

Comcast Sports Net California will air the Northern California Open Division championship between De La Salle and Folsom at Sacramento State. The 7:30 p.m. Saturday game will be broadcast live.

Barry Tompkins (play-by-play), Mike Lamb (analyst) and Dan Dibley (sideline reporter) will call the action. Let’s hope the rain holds off this week for Dibs’ sake.

The winner of De La Salle (13-0) and Folsom (14-0) will face the winner of the Southern regional Open game between Narbonne-Harbor City and Centennial-Corona next week in Carson in the state bowl game.


NorCal regional games announced

De La Salle, Clayton Valley and McClymonds were all selected to compete in the new Northern California regional football championships, the CIF announced this afternoon.

De La Salle, which has won the past three Open Division state bowl games, will play Folsom in the NorCal Open game. Clayton Valley will play Oakdale in the Division II game while McClymonds faces Central Catholic-Modesto in the Division IV game. It’s the first time both Clayton Valley and McClymonds will have a chance to compete for a state title.

Here’s the full  NorCal schedule:

Open: De La Salle vs. Folsom at Sacramento State, Saturday, 7:30 p.m.

Division I: St. Ignatius vs. Granite Bay at Sacramento State, Friday, 7:30 p.m.

Division II: Clayton Valley vs. Oakdale at Lincoln High-Stockton, Saturday, 7:30 p.m.

Division III: Marin Catholic vs. Sutter at Harrison Stadium (Oroville), Saturday, 7:30 p.m.

Division IV: McClymonds vs. Central Catholic at Lincoln High-Stockton, Friday, 7:30 p.m.

Here’s the official release from the CIF: