Big day for Campo, St. Joseph at Stanford Invite

The Campolindo and St. Joseph Notre Dame cross country teams both produced individual and team winners Saturday at the prestigious Stanford Invitational.
Campolindo’s Brighie Leach won the Division III girls race in 18 minutes, 17 seconds for the 3.1 mile course and led the Cougars to the team title (36 points). Its other team scorers for the Campolindo girls were Rachel Johnson (third, 18:51), Hana Sun (eighth, 19:26), Haley Shipway (ninth, 19:30) and Mary Orders (16th, 19:44).
Aidan Goltra of Campolindo was first in the Division III boys race in 15:32.
Gabe Arias-Sheridan led St. Joseph Notre Dame to a sweep of the first four places in the Division V boys race. Arias-Sheridan was first in 16:12, followed by Michael Murphy (16:39), Matthew Murphy (16:40) and Cooper Teare (16:41). The Pilots’ fifth scorer was Gavin Hill (17th, 17:41), as St. Joseph Notre Dame won the team title with an outstanding score of 24.
De La Salle had the fastest East Bay team time of the day (81:07) as it placed third in the Boys seeded race with a score of 189. Its scorers were Blair Hurlock (fifth, 15:19), Matt Schumann (20th, 15:54), Luke Williams (28th, 16:15), Austin Sanchez (41st, 16:28) and Sean Wanket (110th, 17:11).
Other top-three places by East Bay teams and individuals were achieved by San Ramon Valley’s Jason Intravaia in the Division I boys race (third, 16:05), Alameda’s Cameron Tu in the Division II boys race (second, 15:58), Acalanes’ Cameron Gaskell in the Division III boys race (third, 16:11), Campolindo in the Division III boys race (second, 116 points), St. Mary’s in the Division IV girls race (third, 138 points), Athenian’s Grace Brown in the Division V girls race (second, 19:47) College Prep in the Division V girls race (second, 88 points) and Athenian in the Division V girls race (third, 143 points).

Phil Jensen