Part of the Bay Area News Group

West County Times staff

Meet the staff of the West County Times:

Karl Fischer has written about crime and public safety in western Contra Costa County since 2002 for the West County Times newspaper. He has 11 years of experience as a daily newspaper reporter. He can be reached at kfischer@bayareanewsgroup.com

Shelly Meron is the education reporter at the West County Times, and has been covering the West Contra Costa and John Swett school districts for almost two years. She writes about school budgets, construction projects, student violence, and various campus programs and events. Before coming to the Times, Shelly wrote for the Santa Cruz Sentinel, the Marin Independent Journal, and the Vacaville Reporter. You can reach her at smeron@bayareanewsgroup.com, or follow her at Twitter.com/shellymeron

Chris Treadway is the community columnist/reporter for the West County Times and has been a journalist in the East Bay for 24 years. He can be reached at ctreadway@bayreanewsgroup.com

Katherine Tam is a Bay Area native and has been a reporter at various publications for 11 years. She has been covering the city of Richmond for three years. She can be reached at ktam@bayareanewsgroup.com

Dora Scardina has worked at the West County Times since August 1979 and done myriad jobs – from editing 36 inches of letters daily for the WCT, to putting together a weekly arts briefs section and West County This Week events calendar.  She also edits the entire letters sections in The Journal and The Voice weeklies.

Tom Lochner covers Hercules, Pinole, San Pablo and some unincorporated areas of Contra Costa County. He can be reached at tlochner@bayareanewsgroup.com.

Dave Boitano is the editor of the Berkeley Voice and The Journal weekly newspapers. He has 23 years experience with Bay Area News Group in the Livermore and San Joaquin valleys. He can be reached at dboitano@bayareanewsgroup.com

Kathleen Kirkwood is editor of the West County Times and has been a journalist for 25 years, much of it in the East Bay as a reporter and editor for the Oakland Tribune. She can be reached at kkirkwood@bayareanewsgroup.com